New laws governing the use of mopeds and scooters have taken effect in Indiana. Though these laws have been in effect for 10 months, there continues to be confusion about their application. Not understanding and complying with these new Indiana moped laws can cause serious problems for moped and scooter riders.
Enacted in January of 2015, the new laws classify mopeds and scooters into one of two categories, each with its own unique rules. Motor driven cycles, as the new law refers to mopeds and scooters, are classified as a motor driven cycle class A or a motor driven cycle class B. The law also recognizes the classification of motorcycle, which has historically existed in Indiana.
Class A Motor Driven Cycles
The new law defines class A motor driven cycles as having an engine that produces no more than five horsepower; a seat or saddle for the use of the rider; and, being designed to travel on no more than three wheels. In order to operate a motor driven cycle class A, a rider must have one of the following: a valid driver’s license with a MC (motorcycle) endorsement; a valid driver’s license with a MC endorsement with a class A restriction; or, a valid driver’s license and a motorcycle learner’s permit. For a class A motor driven cycle, insurance and registration are required. Additionally, riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.
Class B Motor Driven Cycles
The second classification is class B motor driven cycle, which is defined by the law as having a cylinder capacity that does not exceed 50 cc (cubic centimeters); a seat or saddle for the use of the rider; and, being designed to travel on no more than three wheels. A rider of a class B motor driven cycle must have a valid driver’s license without any endorsement; a valid learner’s permit without any endorsement; or, an unexpired Indiana identification card with a class B endorsement. Additionally, the rider must register the motor driven cycle class B with the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), but insurance is not required. To operate a class B motor driven cycle, the rider must be 15 years old and where a helmet while under the age of 18. Additionally, a motor driven cycle class B must operate at no more than 35 MPH and passengers are not permitted.