If you are injured in a car crash in Indiana, you may be counting on the at-fault driver’s insurance to pay your medical bills and other losses. Under Indiana law, every driver must carry a certain amount of insurance in case they are in an accident. But if the driver who hit you was only insured for the required minimum—or had no insurance at all—you may not be fully compensated for all of your losses.
Indiana Insurance Minimums
In order to register a car in Indiana, you must provide proof that you have insurance coverage on the vehicle. At a bare minimum, your policy must cover the following:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability
Unless you decline uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage in writing, your policy will also include coverage for damage caused by a driver who was uninsured or whose policy does not provide adequate coverage for the damage he has caused in the following amounts:
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $10,000 uninsured motorist property damage
- $50,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury
While these might seem like generous amounts at first glance, if you suffer serious injuries in an Indiana car crash with a minimally insured driver, $25,000 may not be nearly enough to cover the cost of the ambulance, emergency room treatment, surgery, follow-up visits, rehabilitation, the wages you lost while you were recovering from the accident—and more.